Other entry segues into… How I started blogging.

6 07 2006

The internet was starting to become popular in my age group. I was at the end of senior winter, and nearing the beginning of my senior spring of high school. The year was 2000.

I don’t know how I discovered the site. It was probably some search engine, or just some random browsing — because that happened a lot then. I was addicted to the potential of the internet, and not just because it satiated my boredom. I had been a paper journaler, previously, but my privacy was frequented by my mother, who was curious at how her daughter was navigating biculturalism (not well, in my opinion, but surviving).

In their list of links, I found something promising: OpenDiary. I think it’s called FreeOpenDiary now, but OpenDiary was what it was then. Such a feminine name, now that I think back on it. Girls wrote in their diaries. Boys didn’t have them.

I took out my paper diary and started transcribing the first few entries into my OD (what an awful acronym… people probably thought we were all junkies). I realized a couple of things. It sucks to transcribe. And I wrote really boring entries. What should I expect? I was paper journalling with a constant fear of being read. I’d purposely make the entries boring so no one could find a reason to read on. Besides, if I remember correctly — who wanted to read about Sunday D[etention]? Not me. I can’t believe I remembered that.

OD only had two reader options, public and private. The more I made public, the more my recent posts would make it into their constantly updated ‘recent posts’ section. The more I made public, the more other users would read. With the advent of AIM, more people contacted me, and my social circle got bigger. Good.

Unfortunately, as more people flocked to OD, the more their servers went on overtime. They got slow. They had a lot more errors. Bandwidth was sucked up by the truckload (sometimes I feel guilty for this, at one point between 2000 and 2002 I had a network of about 15 real-life friends on OD — all of whom updated on a frequent daily basis). And they had pop-up ads. Everyone hates pop-up ads.

Lucky me, one of these online friends had an invite code to LJ (LiveJournal). Well, before the code, I tried starting up a blogspot blog, but I felt the whole interface was too clunky with what I wanted to do. He gave me the invite code, and I started posting things I didn’t want anyone on OD seeing. Then I started cutting and pasting whole entries into it. And as I was still on dialup at the time (at home, not at college), I’d write long entries in Word and paste it into LJ. Unlike OD, Lj didn’t have a character limit. Bonus points for them in my book. Invite code beget invite codes, and soon enough, some of my real-life OD network moved to LJ as well.

My personal blog has been housed there ever since.

I got a xanga, for the sole purpose of checking up on others’ xangas. I don’t update it.

My blogspot had been revitalized, but blogspot ate it. So I killed the URL. Now it’s here.

I have a video blog up on blogger now.

I also recently acquired a Vox account. Will be using that shortly, for personal use. Even though Vox hasn’t officially launched yet. I have a new standard account. Hopefully that might turn into Early Adopter or something.

And that’s it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

