High degree myopia

21 03 2007

I just got back from the opthalmologist. Haven’t been back to see him since Nov 05. So saying I was overdue was a bit of an understatement. Over the last 5 years, I’ve been relatively used to him saying that I needed a weaker prescription for my glasses/contacts or I had little to no change at all. For someone who has had to deal with corrective lenses since the age of 5 — this is huge news.

Glasses changed. Contacts changed, and I’m not talking a little bit. I’m talking a lot bit.

Like so bad, they don’t even MAKE colored contacts in my size. I was really looking forward to green lenses too. On the smallish upside, I didn’t hear a thing about astigmatism this time. Yay.

I’ve known for the last… 5-7 years that LASIK isn’t even an option for me. That’s bad. Like that’s kind of depressing bad. Sure, they make cute looking frames now. But that doesn’t change the fact that I’m insanely jealous of those without glasses. Those without the need for contacts. Those who can just go out and purchase colored contacts on a whim because they just felt like changing or enhancing the color of their eyes. The ones who can get funky frames because they don’t have to get lenses that look like they weigh a pound. People who can drop a couple thousand (or less) on a quick procedure that can have them seeing perfectly in seemingly no time at all.

It doesn’t look like I’m ever going to have that option of getting BETTER. Perfect vision … permanent 20/20 vision without corrective lenses?

Ha. In my dreams. And even then — if I’m not wearing contacts or glasses in my dreams? I still can’t effing see.

Actions

Information

One response

22 03 2007
Jenna

I can sympathize. I’m insanely jealous of people who can actually see the alarm clock when they wake up in the morning.

Leave a Reply

