Easter Pet Peeve

2 04 2007

I appreciate people who acknowledge others’ holidays. But, it’s not like we have a lack of movies telling people what leads up to Easter. I am Catholic. I take off of work for Good Friday. I went to see ‘The Passion of the Christ’ by Mel Gibson (and I will never watch it again). There are more than enough movies out that depict the events of and leading up to the crucifixion of Christ.

Good Friday = crucifixion.

It is a personal pet peeve of mine that people not in the know tell me ‘Happy Good Friday’. Sure, the name of it is a bit misleading, but the day of celebration is Easter, the Sunday after that Friday. Catholic Masses are heavily peppered with song. And the atmosphere during Good Friday Masses are possibly the most depressing thing I’ve ever seen — religion wise, anyway. It’s like an annual funeral.

If anyone heard anything about the hype surrounding ‘The Passion of the Christ’, they’d realize it was neither passionate (in that good positive passionate way) nor Good.

At any rate, I cannot wait till next Sunday. Springy and white skirts and lots of chocolate.

And a guarantee of no-repeats of Easter 2004 (post to come later, if someone reminds me).

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

