People you hate to sit next to on the train

19 09 2007

Or across from. Or down a row from. Or behind. Or in front of (depending on which way the seats are facing). Or breathing the same air as.

I take the 704a train to work every morning. I also like to get in a good 45 min nap on my way to the city. So do the other 90% of the commuters on the train. Some people like to read. Some people catch up on work. Others like to enjoy the quiet time where they don’t need to drive. It’s gotten a great deal quieter since  school’s started up, and parents are less likely to infringe on our morning commute with their loud children (not all are loud, admittedly) for a fun family city day trip.

In short, we enjoy the QUIET.

Apparently, some arrogant self-entitled individuals enjoy the QUIET so much, they strive to ruin it for the other 99% of the people in the car by having a long, drawn-out, and loud cell phone conversation. I can understand a frantic interviewee getting last minute directions to their destination. I can understand harried tourists who are speaking to loved ones, and who have never navigated Penn Station during rush hour. I can even understand working mothers who want to talk to their kids before starting their work day. On average, these phone calls last 5 minutes — tops.

This guy, this morning… Unbelievable. Unbelievably inconsiderate, unbelievably loud, unbelievably so infuriating — that if I wasn’t so tired, I would have stood up and snapped at this guy to shut the hell up. I mean, even the conductor came by to tell him to quiet down. Which he did, for all of 30 seconds. I can’t imagine he didn’t see the faces of the people attempting to sleep around him.

When we finally pulled up to the platform, I got a better look at this guy. Faux gold watch, fancy green leather briefcase, plus a few duffels. Rather portly. An inexplicably monogrammed shirt, where the monogram was below where his pocket ought to have been. Greasy oiled back hair. Basically the kind of people who love the smell of their own farts.

Hopefully, I’ll never hear him again on the train. I should have snapped a picture with my phone, but like I said, too tired.

Actions

Information

4 responses

19 09 2007
jeffjnyc

Well Put! There should be a fine, or the violator should be humiliated for their pompous and negligent behavior!

21 09 2007
Andrew

He seems to fit the description of a commuter, I hope for your sake that he’s only a temp.

21 09 2007
Corinne

Steven and Lisa — I don’t think either of you two understand what common courtesy is. Nor did either of you really read my post, obviously. I have problems with people with no respect or courtesy for others. Not to mention, there are RULES on the train about having respect for fellow passengers and not talking loudly while on the train. There are also sections of the train where you can carry on a phone call without disturbing the peace.

I’m sick of people who have an entitlement issue (from your comments — I’d say both of you fall into this category). I’m sick of people with no respect or courtesy.

21 09 2007
Jeff

If you’re on a train, at 7:20am, in a car filled with commuters who are trying to sleep, or work until their final destination (and they’re all quiet) – would you feel “entitled” to carry out a 45 minute loud conversation, in the middle of the car?

If you do, you’re just a moron, and little anyone can do will really correct the multitude of deficiencies that plague your life, and the lives of those unfortunate enough to touch yours.

Cheers! and STFU :-p

Leave a Reply

